Friday, May 20, 2022

How Many Districts in Assam Updated 2022: Assam General Knowledge MCQ

How Many Districts in Assam Updated 2022: Assam General Knowledge MCQ

Assam is a northeastern state of India, that is divided into 35 administrative geographical units called districts. Assam has 35 districts.

A district of an Indian state is an administrative geographical unit, headed by the Deputy Commissioner (DC), which mixes the offices of the District Magistrate ultimately accountable for maintaining law and order and the District Collector answerable for collection of the revenue. Generally, a political candidate belonging to the Indian Administrative Service becomes the DC but occasionally officers belonging to the Assam government officials do get appointed. The DC is assisted by a variety of officials belonging to different wings of the executive services of the state.

The districts of Assam are grouped together in five regional divisions, headed by a Commissioner. A superintendent of Police, a politician belonging to the Indian Police Service is entrusted with the responsibility of maintaining law and order and related issues. The police administration in Guwahati City is headed by the Commissioner of Police, which started working on 1 January 2015. 

Before its Independence in 1947, Assam had thirteen districts. The districts were Goalpara, Kamrup, Cachar, Darrang, Lakhimpur, Nagaon, Sivasagar, Jayantia Parganas, Garo Hills, Lushai Hills, Naga hills, Sylhet, and NEFA. Brits India territorial dominion four princely states beneath Assam state were Tripura, Khasi states, Robert Koch province and province (included throughout Independence). Sylhet district had been given to East Pakistan at the time of the Partition. when several inclusion and exclusion throughout the independence and later until 1972, Assam fashioned this form with its prime seven districts. the opposite six districts recurvate out of Assam; Jayantia, Garo, and Khasi were combined and have become Meghalaya State; Lushiai hills became Mizoram; Kamarupan hills became Nagaland; NEFA became Arunachal Pradesh; each princely states Tripura and province enclosed in Assam and later separated as state and Robert Koch province became a part of the province.

On terrorist organization 1951, United Mikir and North Cachar Hills district recurvate out of Golaghat, Nagaon, Cachar, Jayantia and Kamarupan hills districts.

On two Feb 1970, Mikir Hills district recurvate out of North Cachar Hills.

In 1976, Dibrugarh district recurves out of Lakhimpur, and therefore the Name of Mikir Hills district was modified to Karbi Anglong district.
In 1983, Barpeta district recurvates out of Kamrup; Sonitpur district recurvates out of Darrang; Jorhat district recurvate out of Sibsagar, Dhubri district, and Kokrajhar district recurvates out of Goalpara; Karimganj district recurvates out of Cachar.

On fourteen August 1985, Nalbari district recurvate out of Kamrup.

On fifteen August 1987, Golaghat district recurvate out of Sibsagar.
In 1989, Hailakandi district recurvate out of Cachar, Marigaon district recurvate out of Nagaon, Bongaigaon district recurvate out of Goalpara and Kokrajhar, Tinsukia district recurvate out of Dibrugarh and Dhemaji district recurvate out of Lakhimpur.
On three Feb 2003, Kamrup Metropolitan district recurvate out of Kamrup.

On one June 2004, Baksa district recurvate out of Barpeta, Nalbari, and Kamrup; on four June, Chirang district recurvate out of Barpeta, Bongaigaon, and Kokrajhar, and On fourteen June, Udalguri district recurvates out of Darrang and Sonitpur; at the side of Kokrajhar district fashioned BTAD.

On 1 April 2010, the Name of the North Cachar Hills district was modified to Dima Hasao.

On fifteen August 2015, Tarun Gogoi, the Chief Minister of Assam, proclaimed the formation of 5 new districts within the state,[1] taking the whole variety from twenty-seven to thirty-two. The 5 new districts square measure the following:[1][2] Biswanath (carved out of Sonitpur); Charaideo (carved out of Sivasagar); Hojai (carved out of Nagaon); South Salmara-Mankachar (carved out of Dhubri); West Karbi Anglong (carved out from Karbi Anglong).

On twenty-six Jan 2016, two additional districts were proclaimed, however on seven Gregorian calendar months of 2016, the Govt. has withdrawn district standing of East Kamrup and South Kamrup thanks to inadequate infrastructure. the 2 sub-divisions of East Kamrup district - viz. Chandrapur and Sonapur are currently a part of the Kamrup Metropolitan district. The sub-divisions of South Kamrup district are currently a part of Kamrup Rural district.

On twenty-seven June 2016, an extra district was proclaimed by Sarbananda Sonowal, taking the whole variety from thirty-two to thirty-three that is Majuli (carved out of the Northern elements of Jorhat). it's the primary watercourse island district of India.[3]

On eight August 2020, The Assam cupboard approved a proposal to form Bajali (curved out of Barpeta) the thirty-fourth full-fledged district of Assam.[4] The Assam cupboard headed by Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma approved the proposal to form Tamulpur recurvate out from Baksa district into a full-fledged district.[5] On twenty-three Jan 2022 Tamulpur was formally declared as a thirty-fifth district of Assam.

So, now there are 35 districts in Assam. Lists of Districts of Assam

1) Baksa
2) Bajali
3) Barpeta
4) Biswanath
5) Bongaigaon
6) Cachar
7) Charaideo
8) Chirang
9) Darrang
10) Dhemaji
11) Dhubri
12) Dibrugarh
13) Dima-Hasao
14) Goalpara
15) Golaghat
16) Hailakandi
17) Hojai
18) Jorhat
19) Kamrup Metropolitan
20) Kamrup
21) Karbi Anglong
22) Karimganj
23) Kokrajhar
24) Lakhimpur
25) Majuli
26) Morigaon
27) Nagaon
28) Nalbari
29) Sivasagar
30) Sonitpur
31) South Salmara Mancachar
32) Tamulpur
33) Tinsukia
34) Udalguri
35) West Karbi Anglong

No comments:

Post a Comment